Speaking to people about her newly launched book You Should Sit Down for This, Mowry-Housley reflects on her early life and the balance between being a everyday youngster and an aspiring actress, who finally landed her breakout function on Sister, Sister with twin Tia Mowry. “It was hard. I thank God that I had my sister,” the 44-year-antique actress tells people.

tvguidetime.com

“There changed into a point in our life in which we were damned if we did, and damned if we didn’t.

Mowry-Housley even recalled an example wherein a biology instructor gave her a tough time for her profession.

“He just did not remember that I’m a operating actress. I couldn’t be there each day. He mechanically desired to fail my sister and I.”

“We worked hard,” she endured. “I wanted to reveal him that, ‘No, I’m still doing faculty. Yes, I am no longer there each day.

I apprehend the attendance isn’t always there, but this is a exclusive case. This is a activity.’ I consider I gave him an ultimatum.

I stated, ‘Let me take your very last, permit me take your final. Whatever I get on that very last is what I get inside the elegance.’”

And she handed! “We continually needed to combat, my sister and I, constantly. Fight for our grades, combat for a position, fight to win a festival. In the process, we are very robust.”

In the book, Mowry-Housley takes readers via her lifestyles — from touchdown her breakout role Sister, Sister with Tia to her stint as a talk show host on The Real.

Throughout, she stays actual to her optimism with hilarious dating anecdotes (she loves evaluating men to wine!), tales about the (only a few) times she disobeyed her mother or even a stunning story of the time she babysat Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen.

Aside from the a laugh tales, Mowry-Housley also wore her heart on her sleeve as she particular the death of her 18-year-antique niece Alaina and her exit from The Real for the primary time.

“There had been moments where I questioned whether or now not I ought to placed it in the book both as it become so emotional and due to the fact I changed into speaking from my coronary heart,” she says. She maintains, “I realize that there are people out there who will like to take benefit of that and tear you down.

You need to always pass from an area of fact and authenticity. I felt like that tale needed to be told.” You Should Sit Down for This is out now.

— MSN Entertainment (@MSN_Entertain) October 6, 2022